National Assessment of Education Progress (NAEP) Scores

New York State and U.S. Public Schools, % at level

Table may take a moment to load.

Source: National Center for Education Statistics,

* Includes public schools only

There are three achievement levels for each grade assessed by NAEP (4, 8, and 12): Basic, Proficient, and Advanced. The following definitions apply to all subjects and all grades assessed by NAEP:

Basic: Indicates partial mastery of prerequisite knowledge and skills that are fundamental for proficient work at each grade.

Proficient: Represents solid academic performance for each grade assessed. Students reaching this level have demonstrated competency over challenging subject matter, including subject-matter knowledge, application of such knowledge to real world situations, and analytical skills appropriate to the subject matter.

Advanced: Signifies superior performance.


Empire Center Logo Enjoying our work? Sign up for email alerts on our latest news and research.
Together, we can make New York a better place to live and work!