New York Employment Recovery



*Upstate defined as all counties north of the Metropolitan Commuter District, which consists of New York City; Nassau and Sudffolk on Long Island; and Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Westcehster in the lower Hudson Valley

Total for upstate and downstate include apportioned shares of the “Unknown or Undefined” totals.

Total Private-Sector Employment, Statewide and Counties
First Quarter Averages by Year